Okay, Stopped Reading…

2012/03/25

Three Generations, No Imbeciles, Lombardo.  I just couldn’t continue, I think because my attention span is very short right now.  Lots going on.

However, I did read 2 other books this week, and started another.

What It Is by Sarah Burleton.  Quick read, a memoir by someone who was abused horribly by her mother.

Return From Tomorrow by George Ritchie w/ Elizabeth Sherrill.  It is Ritchie’s account of his after life experience when he was at boot camp in training WWII.  It is quite fascinating.  I believe his co-author, Sherrill, originally wrote about George Ritchie in Guideposts magazine.  They state in the book that Ritchie’s story was the inspiration for Raymond Moody’s research into after life experiences.  I found the book very inspirational.  Ritchie is a Christian, and believes the name of God is Jesus, based on his experience.

I am now reading a very entertaining book about the marijuana trade in the 70’s & early 80’s.  It is called  Jackpot, High Times, High Seas, and the Sting That Launched the War on Drugs by Jason Ryan.  It is very interesting, I love historical books that recount events that didn’t happen very long ago.  I’m also dying to see if I recognize any of the characters, because in the late 80’s or early 90’s a fugitive smuggler who was a pilot was captured in Richmond, and, sadly, broke the heart of a girl he was seeing, who I knew.  Small world, no?

Plus, my sister, Betsy, is visiting from IN, I left a job under duress 2 weeks ago, starting a new job next week, closing on a house next week, youngest going to FL on a chorus trip next week, and moving the following week.  I guess that’s about it!

3 Responses to “Okay, Stopped Reading…”

  1. Cassie Says:

    I think I’d like to read Return from Tomorrow – it sounds really interesting and I’ve been on a WWII kick lately.

  2. shoreacres Says:

    Holy Smokes! Your life sounds like its own novel – that’s a lot going on.

    Hope all works out well, and you find time for just a little reading!

  3. Julie Says:

    Thank both of you for commenting. I didn’t realize I hadn’t responded. I appreciate your reading, too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,084 other followers

