Home

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

2009/10/18

Just watched this with Tim.  It was very good.  I enjoyed it so much.  It was about passion, art, Existentialism.  It was a contrast from the book I’m reading, No Place Safe, which I wrote about earlier.  I highly recommend this book for everyone.  I would like to see this book in  middle school curriculums.  It is right on in its portrayal of teen angst, and as a European American, it helped me understand how an African American my age felt as a young teen.   In some ways, the same.  However, in the life of  the adolescent Kim Reid in No Place Safe, passion, art and Existentialism, especially, would be luxuries.  When we are struggling just to be safe we don’t have time to mull over ourselves.   Kierkegaard, the Existentialist philosopher, portrayed Existentialism more in the sense of taking responsibility for our own passion, contentment, giving our own lives meaning.  Responsibility was one of his elements in Existentialist thought, with which I would certainly agree. 

I had forgotten Vicky Cristina Barcelona was a Woody Allen film.  His films have evolved!  I always enjoyed them, but this film had a richness lacking in some of his other films.  Of course the actors were beautiful, ravishing.  It was a lot of fun.   The setting was beautiful.  I want to go to Barcelona!

Leave a Reply

