Home

Creative Spark

2009/10/28

Haven’t blogged much yet this week.  I was caught up in another fluff novel-An Inconvenient Woman by Dominick Dunne.  All that is done, and I must return to my writing.  We had class last night.  I had a hard time with the assignment.  We were supposed to focus on an object on a surface in the home, I think a memento, and write about it.  I put it off until right before class.  I wrote about a picture of one of my sons.  Truthfully, I wrote about my relationship with one of my sons.

During class we had a timed exercise of describing someone we know from different angles, as if they were sitting in a chair in the middle of the room and we were circling them.  I had a hard time with that, too.  He referenced D.H. Lawrence when he gave the assignment, and we are to do the same assignment for homework, only ourselves will be in the chair.  So, I am gong to read up a little on D.H. Lawrence narrative & descriptive prose, and try to be objective.  I found a pic of Mr. Lawrence here.

dh_lawrence

The instructor says the importance in writing are details about the character, a sense of feeling, and relationship.  I don’t think I will have a hard time with that.  I may if I am creating a fictional character, though.  We shall see!

Leave a Reply

