Home

We Were the Mulvaneys

2009/11/16

This tome is by Joyce Carol Oates and I started it yesterday.  It is very engrossing.  I can’t put it down.  I’m over half way through.  I’ve taken it everywhere with me since I started reading it yesterday, except the reception I attended.  It is sad, redemptive, authentic.  I am enjoying it very much.  I always thought this writer wrote romance novels, for some reason.  I didn’t know this before, but it’s an “Oprah” book.  If it’s an Oprah book, I usually enjoy it.

I want to read Mary Karr’s last 3 books.  She has 1 new one, a sequal of sorts to the 1st one, and a book of peotry.  I also want to read Jane Hamilton’s latest.  I read The Book of Ruth and A Map of the World, which was stunning and beautiful.  I just checked-she’s written 4 since then, including the latest, so I will have to check them out, too.

I can’t believe I received my 5 books Thursday, and I am 1/2 way through them.  Let me know if you want me to pass them along to you.  I usually just take them to Goodwill after I’ve read them.

Leave a Reply

