Home

Elsie

2009/11/28

Elsie

 

It was a dark existence

Teeming with other dogs whining,

Howling

The smells of dogs on top of one another

Eating, fighting, defecating, wallowing

 

Did all the bitches stay in one place?

How did the farmers know they were in heat?

Did they place her in a cage with all males?

Did the males attack her?

Did she suffer?

 

Litter after litter, she had.

I wonder how many.

It must have been so painful, fearful

Living in filth, only canine contact

Never gentle.

 

She was so afraid of other stimuli.

A click would frighten her.

She was hyper vigilant.

A tall man

A flash of lightning

A sudden movement

 

She is clean now

Her teeth are white.

She eats healthy food and receives tasty treats.

She sleeps, always by the one she trusts most.

 

She’s such a good girl

So loyal, so true, so loving.

I’m so thankful for my shadow.

4 Responses to “Elsie”

  1. Jaymie Says:

    Beautiful shadow you have there.

  2. shoreacres Says:

    I found the poem from your recent entry about her – really enjoyed it. They do touch our hearts so, don’t they?

  3. Julie Says:

    Thank you for stopping by and reading my poem about Elsie. All of my poetry is under the category “Poems I wrote”. I just started writing poetry and I’m enjoying it very much.


Leave a Reply

