Home

I’m reading..

2009/11/29

Still the large tome about the history of missing people.  Started a good fluff novel by Dominick Dunne, A Season in Purgatory.  It’s main character sound like he is based on a young Teddy Kennedy, and the family described sounds very much like Kennedy’s.  Won’t take me long to read.  I ordered a couple of books recommended by one of  my birth pod members  (born 11/23, like me!-younger though!) Kim, and a couple I’d been saving w/ a 15% discount from, who else? Better World Books.  Here they are:

The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron (which I have somewhere in storage but I’ve no idea when I’ll see it again and must read now!) Me, compulsive?  Why, I …..

The Creative Habit, by Twyla Tharp (Excitation!  Not a painter, etc., but a dancer/choreographer!!)

Disobedience: A Novel, by Jane Hamilton (have read 2 other of her fabulous novels; so very interesting!)

Thunderstuck, by Erik Larsen (who wrote Isaac’s Storm, an account of the Galveston storm of the early 1900’s that took many lives and really destroyed Galveston Island.  It is an excellent book and I highly recommend it.) 

Speaking of birth pod members–what do I call them?  Well, Michael Mouskos is closest to cosmic twin because he was born a mere 5 hours after me.  One of my bestest friends, Amanda V.M., born 1966, Kim, born 1966 (I think), Ashtoreth, born 1967, I get confused, Mandy, Kim & Ashtoreth born around the same time,   Amanda’s Dad, Billy, RIP, not sure what year, probably late 20’s or early 30’s.  And RIP, Denise, my sons’ birth mother and Tim’s first wife.  She had the same birthday, born 1962.  I was born 1963.   So, anyone else born 11/23?  Isn’t it wild Denise and I have the same birthday?

Ta Ta, had to write something uplifting after my moribund poems.  Not sure if I used moribund in its appropriate context, but it sounded nice, don’t you think?

 

 

6 Responses to “I’m reading..”

  1. paige Says:

    Hey if you are interested in Dominick Dunne, and have some spare time, you should check out the doc about him ‘Dominick Dunne: After the Party.

    Happy reading!
    🙂

    • Julie Says:

      Paige, I saw that doc. I love documentaries, and I was perusing Netflix docs and saw it. I couldn’t believe I’d never heard of it, because I’m a huge Dominick Dunne fan. I’ve followed him for years and read most of his books. In fact, the one I mentioned above I’m sure I read before, but it’s been a long time.

      I can’t said to read his latest book. Wasn’t it ironic he died the same time as Ted Kennedy, thus his death wasn’t covered as it might have been?

      Thanks for reading. I wrote more about D.D. in earlier posts. Let me know if you have a blog.

      Ta Ta! Julie

  2. Unc Says:

    The way you used “moribund” meant that your poems were dying, not about dying. Still, so what? One doesn’t hear that word so very often, and it was nice to.

    • Julie Says:

      Oh, you smart Uncle, you!! Thank you for letting it be okay. When a unique word pops into my head I love to use it. And hey, if it sounds like it belongs there, well, why not? : )

  3. Unc Says:

    Just so we’re clear here, Julie…I would never have said anything had you not mentioned it.

  4. Julie Says:

    Oh, I know. I was joking in my reply. You are smart! I wish my vocab. was better, but it could be worse.


Leave a Reply

