Home

Jimmy Ray

2009/12/01

I wrote a poem about something tragic that happened when I was 11.  Here it is.

Jimmy Ray

 

A scream becomes a wail.

Becomes a cacophony of wails,

confusion, panic, terror.

A mother and a father

lift a woody station wagon

off a six year old boy.

The wailing, the agony, the silence

of a little boy who will never recover.

He was a son, brother, grandson, nephew.

He was a friend to one I love.

He would live a few hours.

Desperate attempts to save the life

of a broken, bruised, torn boy.

A body crushed, could be repaired.

But not after causing irreparable damage.

Not after the light had left.

2 Responses to “Jimmy Ray”

  1. gbaugh Says:

    Julie,
    This is so sad.
    A very well written poem, a poem should evoke emotion, feeling, yours did just that. I felt the anguish and loss.
    My favorite line; “Not after the light had left”

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

    • Julie Says:

      Thank you, Gerardine. It’s another one that came from the heart, after I’d written about it for writing class “the worst year of my life”. 1974 The memoy was because my Mom went back to work, then out of the writing came the memory of this and another tragedy, the violent murder of a 5 year old boy and his mother, who we also knew in our rural community. I realized perhaps it was because of these terrible, violent deaths that I thought of that year as the worst of my life.

      Thank you so much. I will definitely be checking back on your blog and writing. Your feedback means a lot to me.


Leave a Reply

