Home

My Little Boy

2009/12/09

Tall now, thin.

Taller than his father

or brother

Ginger hair, blue eyes

Inquisitive, intuitive, intelligent mind.

A young man

with the innocence

of a little boy.

He was invisible.

Agreeable, pliable.

He laughed.

He disappeared.

His mind went to places

more fun.

And it sped too quickly.

2 years old and his life became

Chaos.  But he didn’t know it.

His mother

viscerally ripped from him,

as if their connection was

cut brutally with a knife.

Too young to understand,

Not even realizing She was gone.

Later, he knew there was a She.

Where did She go?

Or was She a dream? 

He dreamed of Her.

He wondered, thoughts

streaming too quickly.

Confusion, always confusion.

He couldn’t understand

what happened.

6 Responses to “My Little Boy”

  1. gbaugh Says:

    I felt sadness and the boy’s confusion when I read this poem.

    Very nice:

    “2 years old and his life became
    Chaos. But he didn’t know it”

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com

    • Julie Says:

      Thank you Gerardine. The poem felt awkward. I’m glad you could feel the sadness and confusion. I wanted to convey that. I hope he realizes one day how I knew how he felt, even then. He’s my 15 year old son. I married their Dad when they were 4 & 7. Their Mommy pass on when they were 2 & 5. Devastating for them.

  2. Jingle Says:

    Hello:

    kids are inspirations to your poem writing. When it comes to love, communications, and hope with your adorable little boy, you words becoming touching and your thoughts turns into facts, imprinted in your head and you wanted to capture it so that it lasts for good.

    Proud of your bond to poem writing and son raising.
    of course, kids get confused at times, but grown-ups get confused too…they are very smart to learn and react…

  3. Jaymie Says:

    This made me so sad I teared up. The writing is beautiful, more beautiful than that is him having you to help him through – lucky boy. Blessings friend.

  4. Julie Says:

    Jingle, Thank you! Thank you for your kind words.
    Jaymie, I’m glad it touched you so much. I want to express emotion when I write.

    I appreciate your stoppying by to read.

  5. stephanie joyce Says:

    Julie, beautifully done…so wonderful you have the gift of transforming your thoughts and ideas into poetry.


Leave a Reply

