Home

Reading, writing, papercrafting (blog)

2009/12/12

We are in Norfolk, going to a banquet at Virginia Wesleyan, Andy’s college in a few hours.   We are staying at a new Holiday Inn Express w/ great contemporary decor.  Wish I knew it had a pool & gym, & the price was right.  It was a block of rooms for people going to this event.  I’m feeling…weird that I haven’t written on here in a few days.  Ever since my poem about Barrett.  Doubt he’ll see it; very unlikely that he reads his Mom’s blog–how boring!  Ha Ha! 

I read a book called Goodbye Mommy .  It’s by a woman named Lora Lee Boynton, an ex-Pat. living in England.  It is multi-faceted.  She has dealt with a lot in her short life (not even 40!).  This is lifetimes of lessons she is learning here!  I bought the book through a British publisher, which made it a little more expensive, but it’s priced low, so it actually is the same price as any hardcover you’d buy here.  I recommend it.  She is straightforward, honest, a very brave woman.  She has 4 sons, need I say more??  Check it out.

I’ve now started Thunderstruck by Erik Larson.  He wrote my favorite historical weather book ever, Isaac’s Storm.  If you have not read it, please do.  I can’t tell you yet about this one, as I have just begun reading it.  What he does is tell a personal story, nonfiction, set during or at the same time as a notable historical event.   He also wrote The Devil in the White City, which was a best seller, but I never read it for some reason.  I also ordered a book by Jane Hamilton, Disobedience, which I am sure I will love.  I loved The Book of Ruth and A Map of the World.  A Map of the World, of which I remember few details, but I do remember the most important, still makes my heart heavy.  Not for long, of course I wouldn’t let that happen, right?  Not me, Miss Obsessive???

Oh, Elsie has been a little sick.  She might have an intestinal infection.  I got a great dog sitter, Deb Harper.  Let me know if you need a dog sitter in the west end of Henrico.  She is wonderful.  Very laid back and nice.  Anywho, Elsie had bad diarrhea starting this morning.  She didn’t have any accidents, just not good when she’s going outside.  She seems to feel okay, not great.  So if she’s still not well tomorrow I’m taking her to the vet Monday.  I feel so thankful to have Deb taking care of her.  This is the first time I’ve had a dog sitter come in.

Oh, when we crossed Chesapeake & Willoughby Bays today on the way to Norfolk they were so beautiful.  It was a little overcast, but the water was smooth as glass.

I made a business/calling card.  Here it is.

4 Responses to “Reading, writing, papercrafting (blog)”

  1. DogJarvous Says:

    Nice Card!! Hope Elsie feels better she is a beautiful dog!

  2. gbaugh Says:

    I agree, that is a very nice card. I hope Elsie feels better. Does she have the doggy flu?

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

    • Julie Says:

      Thanks, I just got MS Publisher & it’s the 1st project. Have some teaking to do! Elsie might have an intestinal infection. She’s better, but hasn’t eaten since Friday, so if she isn’t better by tomorrow I’m taking her to see her vet. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

