Home

Headed back to Richmond

2009/12/13

It will be raining the whole way, and becoming colder.  I think it will stay above freezing though.  Looking forward to getting back to Elsie, see how my girl feels.  She was doing okay as of last night.  Not eating, but that could be because I’m gone, or because she doesn’t feel good.  Can’t wait to get back.   Read more of Thunderstruck.  I love history.  I think it’s so interesting the things that happen, and the context and times in which they happen.

The banquet last night was wonderful.   Dinner was good.  The awards/speakers was long, but I’m sure the VWC Sigma Nu’s wanted to savor every moment.  I was very proud of Andy.  I took a lot of pics, which I will download when I get home.  Can’t wait to see them. 

Barrett is sniffly and his throat hurts.  I hope he doesn’t get sick.  He has a paper to complete for tomorrow.  5 pages on the poem Invictus, which is actually quite interesting.  Tim did a whole Sunday school lesson on this poem last week.

Here is the poem.  It is quite lovely.  I got it here.

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade

And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

William Ernest Henley

Oh, and by the way, I am soooo sick of hearing about Tiger Woods.  I don’t care.  Shut up already.  The media is obsessed!

Okay, hopefully leaving soon.  Ta Ta!  Happy Rainy Day!

6 Responses to “Headed back to Richmond”

  1. gbaugh Says:

    Have a safe ride back home. Your Elsie is probably waiting for you to hand feed her.

    I love this poem by, William Ernest Henley
    Especially the last two lines:

    “I am the master of my fate:
    I am the captain of my soul.”

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

    • Julie Says:

      Yes, we had a nice walk in the rain, she did her little bit of business, and after an hour of holding her and drying her with a towel she seems pretty content!

  2. Jaymie Says:

    I love rain. Safe travels home. 🙂

  3. william Says:

    loved this poem, excellent imagery and rhythm, ur dog looks great,,,,,

    • Julie Says:

      Oh, I didn’t write this poem. It was written by William Ernest Henley. I wish I wrote it! Thanks for stopping by, and Elsie thanks you for the compliment.


Leave a Reply

