Home

Waxing nostalgic over 2007 Christmas (oh & blizzard right now!)

2009/12/19

Pretty presents

 

Right here in little ‘ole Richmond, VA.  So unusual.  I guess we have about 14″.  I took a long nap this afternoon and couldn’t believe it was still snowing when I woke up.  Looked at Christmas pics from 2007.  Felt sad for 1. Sweety, 2. our old house.  It looked so pretty.  I had hoped to get a lot done today but I haven’t.  I’ve slept a lot!

I did find some precious pics of Sweety which I’m sharing here.

Sweety 2007

 

The most precious pic of Sweety ever.

 

My cute boys, 8th & 11th grades

 

Our house, decorated for Christmas

 

The tree, duh!

 

Admiring my presents again.

 

Okay, now it’s 19 December 2009 & STILL SNOWING, for over 24 hours, w/ a few pauses or random ice & sleet.  That Christmas 2007 was a bit tough because it was my first without my little boy, Ryder.  He had passed on the previous August at the age of 14 1/2.  I got Elsie Jan 2008.  Christmas without my shadow clinched it for me.  Walked Elsie & took some pics a while ago.  May upload them.

Hope everyone is safe and healthy.

4 Responses to “Waxing nostalgic over 2007 Christmas (oh & blizzard right now!)”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    The photos of Sweetie are just wonderful. I love her little white “star” on her chest.

    And I have serious snow envy. Gosh, you’ve gotten a lot – and my cousin and his wife who are around there somewhere (there were in Fredericksburg but have moved) are reporting in with 18 inches. My, goodness! Merry Christmas, for sure!

  2. Jaymie Says:

    So wonderful that you have pictures to enhance the wonderful memories. The capacity to love and remember makes life rich. Blessings on your cozy home.

  3. gbaugh Says:

    Your pictures of Sweetie are so cute, she does look like my Tomoe.

    If you are ready, there are a lot of kitties in shelters that would love to share your Christmas.
    My sympathy for Ryder’s loss, I am glad you have Elsie.

    Your house looks beautiful and your oldest son has that look of ‘come-on-take-the –picture’ the youngest is having fun. Very nice looking boys!
    Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    Gerardine Baugh
    http://gerardinebaugh.wordpress.com/

  4. Julie Says:

    Shoreacres, when I was a girl we had a lab/springer spaniel mix-black w/ a star on her chest & her name was Star!

    Thank you all for your comments. I had a little inspiration after a long nap this afternoon and wrote some things down. Will blog them after awhile.

    Another dog (young hound mix) attacked Elsie on our walk this afternoon. I was able to remain very calm and finally the owners got her under control after I help my leg up & pushed her away when she tried to go after her Elsie again. Not a kick, just a firm push back. Elsie was fine, but it made me sad. When we got home I held her for a few hours and brushed and cut her hair. I’m giving her a bath soon. Someone told me they just give their dog a shower when they get one so I think I’ll try that.

    Thank y’all for stopping by. Merry Christmas to all! I feel so blessed to have you stop by here.

    The snow has been great! It’s very rare for December in Richmond. I don’t remember a snow like this before Cristmas. We had a dreadful ice storm in 1998. I was just thinking this afternoon, all of these could have been ice and it would have been much more destructive.

    Very thankful for that!


Leave a Reply

