Home

Family

2010/01/11

Okay, so my Dad has osteoarthritis.  He’s had his knees replaced, a shoulder, a wrist.  His hips hurt him horribly (alliteration unintended, but noted), and now he has this awful pain in his neck which is affecting his ability to hold things with his hands.  His doctor ordered an MRI which he got 29 Dec.  Went back today and it is showing a nerve problem.  He has to get a test w/ die, then see a pain management doc (he’s already on meds for his hips & shoulder), then see a neurosurgeon who will decide if he needs surgery.  I don’t like the sound of it at all.  I’m sending all kinds of light & positive energy his way, and Mom’s too.  It’s a lot for them to be dealing with.

Andy is taking a winter course during winter break at his school on Zombies in literature.  He’s really liking it.

Barrett completed his science project and is on the upswing.

Tim continues to do consulting work part time.

I have not written much lately, and I miss it so much.  If things have calmed down, I’d like to take a class at the museum called the Shadow or something.  It’s kind of looking into one’s dark side.  I think some of the folks from my Creative Spark class are taking it which would make it all the better!  I’m going to see how Barrett feels about me taking it.

I need something that I can escape with in terms of reading.  I’ll finish Mrs. Dalloway.  I’m really enjoying it, and I’d like to read more Virginia Woolf.  However, I want a quick read.  Oh, I might have some true crime lying about somewhere that I haven’t read yet.  A dose of true crime would probably be just the panacea for my feeling of creative doldrums.

It may snow tonight!  I hope it does.  I will still go to work, though, because I have a lot to do with year end.  Probably should have gone in today but, like Sat & yesterday, wasn’t feeling 100%.  Feel much better now, though.

I was vacuuming my bathroom, then pulled my air cleaner apart to vacuum the filter and it tripped the breaker for the whole room & bathroom.  The bag was full, although it hadn’t notified me.  The vc kept tripping the breaker on that particular socket, so perhaps something is wrong with it. 

Spent 2 hours trying to get my phone straight for the move.  I really find the process unbelievably more complicated than in the past.  As with everything else, there are too many choices, especially too many for them to charge you for!

Okay, well, there we are.  A mundane post for a mundane frame of mind.  Will improve, I’m sure.

2 Responses to “Family”

  1. Jaymie Says:

    A writing class sounds wonderful – I hope you get to take it!


Leave a Reply

