Home

Reading….

2010/01/15

Okay, I’m back to the epic Among the Missing-An Anecdotal History of Missing Persons from 1800 to Present written in the 70’s by Jay Robert Nash.  I needed some True Crime to lighten my mood.  I know that sounds oxymoronic, but it helps me escape from my head to think about what happened with other people.  It’s interesting, because some of the cases portrayed in this book I’ve read entire books about.  It’s always interested to revisit the cases from different perspectives.  The last couple of weeks I’ve also been on a gossip magazine frenzy, getting US and People both weeks.  I’m filled in completely on Kate Gosslein & …. I don’t know what else.  Had never even heard of her before all of this scandal broke out.  Really sad for the kids. 

Busy couple of weeks ahead.  Moving, the 23rd.  We get the garage tomorrow morning so we’ll do some moving of smaller things and perhaps things in storage.  Not sure exactly how all that will work logistically.  I’ve really been in denial about the move.  I haven’t packed much, but I plan to get a lot done this weekend. 

I have a physical tomorrow, I’ve been doing sparkpeople for several days and it has gone well.  Just being conscious of what I put in my mouth makes the biggest difference, then little efforts to add Vitamin C, fiber or something when I read my nutrition report that I am short on daily requirements of different nutrients.  The awareness is just really helpful.  I have an ear and/or a sinus infection.  Ear hurting, sinuses on left side of my face hurting.  I’ll get the doc to check that out when I go tomorrow.

 A very elegant, beautiful woman who had been very sick passed away today.  I’m happy for her, but sad too.  She was a fine, graceful person.  Her name was Jane Langhorne Martin, the wife of a scion in our church, Dr. Berkley Martin, Westhampton Baptist, here in Richmond.  He was older and passed away years ago.  I didn’t know him.  I’m not sure how old Mrs. Martin was-between 75-85, probably.  She’d been sick a long time.  I distinctly remember the last time I saw her.  She was as beautiful as always.  I didn’t always know this, but when her children were little, perhaps some not even born yet, she sent her oldest, Berkley the 3rd, called Berkey, if I remember correctly, to camp.  I believe he was 6.  Unfortunately, when the bus came back, he was not on it.  He had drowned in the pool and no one had noticed.  I can’t imagine how that would feel.  I was told she & her husband were instrumental in groups with children being required to  ‘count heads’ before leaving a pool, departing camp, etc.  This evening I thought she was with her little Berkey now.  It’s probably been 50-55 years since she’s seen him.  It must be very sad for her surviving children though.   She was one of those people who, having suffered immeasurable loss, “understood” how Tim felt when he lost Denise. (My husband lost his 1st wife suddenly when she collapsed from cardiac arrhythmia at age 33.)

Here is what the great poet, writer, wise man, artist Kahlil Gibran, said about Joy & Sorrow.  Tim and I had this reading at our wedding, which is a little odd, I know, but meant a lot to both of us on our lifes’ journeys.  From The Prophet which I found here.

On Joy and Sorrow
 Kahlil Gibran

Your joy is your sorrow unmasked.
And the selfsame well from which your laughter rises was oftentimes filled with your tears.
And how else can it be?
The deeper that sorrow carves into your being, the more joy you can contain.
Is not the cup that holds your wine the very cup that was burned in the potter’s oven?
And is not the lute that soothes your spirit, the very wood that was hollowed with knives?
When you are joyous, look deep into your heart and you shall find it is only that which has given you sorrow that is giving you joy.
When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.

Some of you say, “Joy is greater thar sorrow,” and others say, “Nay, sorrow is the greater.”
But I say unto you, they are inseparable.
Together they come, and when one sits, alone with you at your board, remember that the other is asleep upon your bed.

Verily you are suspended like scales between your sorrow and your joy.
Only when you are empty are you at standstill and balanced.
When the treasure-keeper lifts you to weigh his gold and his silver, needs must your joy or your sorrow rise or fall.

Kamilah, Kahlil's mother
Kamilah, Kahlil’s mother. Painting by Kahlil Gibran

I recomment reading the entire book of poems.  They contain ancient, truthful wisdom.

5 Responses to “Reading….”

  1. jingle Says:

    awesome post.

    I am doing “Thursday Poets’ Rally”, your link is included in my post, if you want to participate, please visit me and comment to have your link activated,

    requirement:
    post a poem on Thursday,
    comment on 12 new blogs from the list,
    comment back if you are commented by others.
    get these done within one week.

    thank you for the attention.
    best wishes, Julie.

  2. Jaymie Says:

    This is beautiful in its truth. Sorrow and joy are linked.

    • Julie Says:

      Thank you for reading, my friend. I think of this as part of my belief system, but a guy from our sunday school class totally disagreed, which surprised me. I think perhaps you have to experience a deep loss to understand it, I don’t know.


Leave a Reply

