Home

I didn’t know him, yet I do..

2010/01/21

This humble, country man.

He would be 100 & 2 days today.

Eddie Brown, my husband’s Grandaddy.

He drove a truck for Gulf Oil,

and drove for a pharmaceutical company-

old-time drug runner!

And he farmed his 30 acres.

He could do anything.

The ultimate problem solver,

he could fix anything.

His patience was legion,

as was his kindness.

He was a lover of animals

and they loved him.

Hardly a picture exists of him

without an animal.

I wish I knew him while he was here.

I know I would have loved him too.

I have a taste of him

in my father in law,

and in my husband.

His legacy sovereign.

I have known 2 of his brothers

and they are and were much like him.

Willard, the baby,  fought in the war

and is a smiling, loving man.

Still with us, thankfully.

The other has passed,

and he was a little rougher,

but he loved animals.

Eugene and his wife, Pansy,

lived on the old Brown homeplace.

Long country drive,

surrounded by fields,

house in the middle

among towering trees.

Garden in the back,

as well as outhouses

for storing supplies and equipment. 

I loved Eugene.

because he loved my dog, Ryder

and he talked to me about old times.

I know they are together now.

Eddie, Kelly & Carolyn (my mother in law)

Eugene w/ his sister, Etta on the occasion of her 95th birthday, 2001

Ryder & me on Etta's 95th, 2001

16 Responses to “I didn’t know him, yet I do..”

  1. jingle Says:

    beautiful post,
    sweet dreams tonight.

  2. Jaymie Says:

    Wonderful tributes – you sure can tell a lot by the company folks keep. 🙂


  3. Wonderful pictures and an awesome tributes.
    You look great with Ryder.
    Two great being together, that is such a comforting thought.
    Have you a good weekend.
    hugs,
    shakira

  4. shoreacres Says:

    Lovely, touching tribute. “Common people” usually are the most uncommonly appealing – reading this is a good antidote to what we’re being deluged with in public life.

  5. gbaugh Says:

    Memories are so bitter sweet. Such a sweet post!
    Gerardine Baugh

  6. Yousei Hime Says:

    Character poems and poems about family–there are none better. Thank you so much for sharing this.

  7. taylorprescott Says:

    This made me smile. To respect the memories of well-lived lives is a beautiful thing.

    Cheers,

    Taylor

  8. Julie Says:

    Thank you all for your wonderful comments. I’m honored for you to read this. Such a blessing when my heart speaks out.

  9. brian miller Says:

    wow.
    that was beautiful.
    smiles.

  10. Julie Says:

    Thanks, so much, Brian!

  11. nanno1982 Says:

    OH that was so sweeeeet..
    Grandfathers are the best

  12. artiste7 Says:

    Very touching slice of life. We are so lucky when we know these people or their relations. They are a treasure.


Leave a Reply

