Home

Salinger

2010/01/28

Wow.  For some reason I’m blown away.  J.D. Salinger is dead.  He was 91, for God’s sake.  I just feel shocked.  I don’t even know what he wrote, besides Catcher in the Rye.  I wonder if I would like it now as much as I liked it as a teenager.

Joyce Maynard wrote about him in her memoir.  It wasn’t very complimentary, but it was her truth, I believe.  I always felt like he was somewhat ruled by his Ego, because he was so noisy about his reclusiveness.  I have to admit I know very little about him, though, except he lived in New Hampshire (I think), and he didn’t like to be bothered by most people.  Beyond that, I only know what Maynard said about him because I read her memoir.

I guess it feels like the end of an era or something.  I don’t know.  It’s just weird.

I’ve been very busy moving, haven’t written much.  I have been reading, though.  Stephen King, Bag of Bones.  I’m loving it.  I used to read him all the time, everything up to It.   Then I wasn’t as interested.  about 9-10 years ago my hubby got the re-issued version of  The Stand, and I enjoyed that, but probably not as much as when I read it the 1st time.  My personal favorite has always been The Dead Zone.  Please don’t think of the film or movie, if there was a film.  Absolute BEST Stephen King film adaptation is Stand by Me, based on his novella The Body.

I turned my son, Andy, onto him about 5 years ago and he has enjoyed him a lot.  Andy got into the Dark Tower series which I just could not.  I think part of it is it feels so depressing.  The other-worldliness of it doesn’t have enough real world in it to hold my interest.  It doesn’t have as many pop cultural references as King’s earlier books do.  I also though perhaps it was very action/male oriented.  Then I realized what I was missing was the internal dialogue of the characters.  I realized that after I started reading Bag of Bones. 

I enjoy the way he can describe a feeling, whatever that feeling is–loss, fear, physical pain, emotional pain, sadness, joy, goofy, etc., so acutely.   It’s pretty long-708 pages.  I’ve been reading it in my down time since we’ve had no wireless internet, home telephone.  I have enjoyed it a lot, and it’s because of the depth of some of the characters.  I’m over half way finished and I’ve kept going back to it.

Someone just twittered this quote of Salinger’s:

“I’m sick of just liking people. I wish to God I could meet somebody I could respect.”

I think that’s a very arrogant thing to say, as if others are supposed to entertain him, he is not responsible for his own contentment.   He was misanthropic.   Of course, sometimes introversion can be mistaken as misanthropic, but this quote is definitely misanthropic.  I hope he didn’t act they way toward his family.

Okay, I guess that’s about it.  Feels good to be back on my blog.  Hopefully my heart will render some poetry soon.

4 Responses to “Salinger”

  1. Jaymie Says:

    I had to smile, I stopped reading Stephen King 2 chapters before finishing IT. Sounds like it might be worth another go. Hope you are settling in, I’ll be watching for that poetry. 😉

    • Julie Says:

      Thanks, Jaymie. I’ve really enjoyed the escape of the Stephen King novel while I’m moving. it really is such a blessing, to have a good book to escape with!

  2. jingle Says:

    hi, sorry that man died,
    are you feeling well?
    I wish you the best.
    thanks.

    • Julie Says:

      Thanks, Jingle. I’m fine. He was a fine author, but lived an odd life. Thank you, as always, for coming by and commenting.


Leave a Reply

