Home

Storm

2010/01/29

Storm

I love these winter days when a storm is coming.  Here in Richmond it is a Big. Deal.  So often the snow peters out after crossing the mountains west of here on its eastward journey.  According to the forecasters, this one is going to bring us some white stuff.  We had a freak storm just before Christmas that brought us 14″ of it.  I can’t remember when it snowed like that in December.

Back to the mood of an incipient storm in Richmond.  There’s an undercurrent of excitement.  People who come from places where they actually treat the roads before it snows wonder what all of the hullabaloo is about.  The sun is shining, half-heartedly, behind yellowish clouds.  The temperature has dropped.  It was 60 yesterday, it’s 34 now, was 29 in the wee hours.

They’ve already closed classes at one of the local colleges.  The local news stations are reporting how or not so well-stocked the grocery stores are.  The kids are bummed it’s a Friday so they won’t have a snow day.  And yes, I’m thinking of all the errands I need to run before I’m happily snowed in.

I’ve never not felt joyous and excited on a day like today!!

2 Responses to “Storm”

  1. Jaymie Says:

    I love snow days! I hope you get yours.

  2. Julie Says:

    Thanks, Jaymie. I’m pretty sure we will. Thank you so much for being my blogging angel. I mean it.


Leave a Reply

