Home

Reading, Read

2010/02/07

I read Stephen King’s Bag of Bones, and I really enjoyed it.  It was a nice novel for last weeks storm.  Fortunately I visited the library last week before the storm, and I checked out these books:

Vanished, a true crime book by Carlton Smith (because I needed a true crime fix.)

Historic Haunted America, by Michael Norman & Beth Scott

The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, by Carson McCullers (because I felt like I needed to read a classic.)

Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott, about writing & life.

I became very busy this week when Tim got sick, so I didn’t have a lot of time to read, but I’ve started with Vanished, about a somewhat prominent woman in LA (her father was a disgraced politician, Paul Carpenter, back in the 80’s-90’s.)  She disappeared 8/2001.  She should have been one of those disappearances which get a lot of media attention–blonde, attractive, wealthy, scandalous family.  However, because this occurred a few weeks before 9/11, her disappearance didn’t garner the same media attention as a host of disappearances of other attractive white women.  Oh, predictable Media!

Anyhow, I’ve been plugging along with it.  Not sure which I’ll read next.  Actually 2 of them I can read in bits & pieces.

I’m also excited about reading Robin Sneed’s Flowergirls, a Mirroir.  I purchased this as an e-book last night (via LuLu.com).  I think it will be very interesting.  Her writing is sharp & smart.  I know that from her blog over at Open Salon. 

So, off I go for a little reading.  Woke up too early, so may sneak in a little nap as well!  have to start Tim’s IV soon too.  Ta Ta, Friends!

5 Responses to “Reading, Read”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    Gosh ~ step away for a minute and miss everything! I’m glad to hear things are rocking along relatively well, considering. Best wishes for continued recoveries.

    That snow is really something! A friend in Fairfax, VA got a pile – maybe nearly 30 inches? More than she can walk through, any way.

    Stay tucked in and enjoy the day.

  2. Jaymie Says:

    Ah, good plan. My guys are headed out to various football parties so I’m planning to either read or paint today. Oh the luxury! 🙂

  3. william Says:

    many congratulations on your “sunshine award, much deserved and congratulations to the nominees, a great sunshine day 🙂

  4. Jaymie Says:

    I’ve been doing some catch up work over at my blog. Please stop by my Unexpected Gifts tab and check out the Happy Times post. I know not everyone participates but I wanted you to know that your blog makes my day brighter.

    • Julie Says:

      Thanks, Dear! We’ve been so crazy. I haven’t written in weeks! I am catching up, and trying to get something written.


Leave a Reply

