Home

The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter

2010/02/17

Wow.  I’m almost finished with this.  I can’t believe I never read it before.  It’s very sad.  It says so much about that era in the South.  When I read something that resonates so, I always want to find out as much as possible about the author.  Now I want to read a biography about her.  I want to know about her childhood and adulthood.  I wonder how she met her husband, a fellow writer.  I definitely identify her with her character, Mick, in the book.  There is so much nuance and, again, so much sadness. 

I want to diagnose Blount’s mental illness (bi-polar? schizoid personality disorder?), I love Portia for her positive attitude & kindness.  Biff is depressed.  At times I wonder if he is a pedophile (please don’t act on your urges, Biff!).  However, an adult having a crush on a schoolgirl isn’t so bad as long as they have the boundaries to not act on it.  I guess I should say it’s not so unnatural.  Acting on it would be wrong and unnatural.  At other times I wonder if he is a latent homosexual.  Perhaps something will happen that tells me before the book ends.  He is definitely a very depressed individual, as is Singer.  Poor Dr. Copeland.  So depressed!

Loneliness is sad.  Being alone can be invigorating, empowering.  Being lonely is just pain.

16 Responses to “The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter”


  1. Because of your Blog post- I searched out this book online- now I want to read it, will have to check and see if my library has it. I found a list of 100 best English language novels
    http://www.time.com/time/2005/100books/the_complete_list.html
    Have a great Day!!
    Gerardine

    • Julie Says:

      Gerardine, that is so cool. I loved the book. It was sad, southern gothic fiction, but I like that. The prose was extraordinary. xoxo

  2. shoreacres Says:

    Your distinction between being alone and being lonely – so true. It’s a lesson we all learn, over and over.

    • Julie Says:

      Yes, I agree. It is in us as far as which it is going to be, I think. Not sure if I’m strong enough to consciously channel it in the positive direction, although I rarely feel lonely.

  3. Jingle Says:

    u r curious like a child.
    I admire your ability to read, reflect, think, and learn…

    Happy Post!
    Have An Awesome Weekend.

  4. Mindy Says:

    Hello there! This is a synchronicity…today I was playing piano for a singer at her lesson and the translation of the German text made me think of The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, which I hadn’t thought of in decades. And then you commented on my Twitter poll at essencesonline.com (Healing Waters) and here I am. Wow. I only have a personal Twitter account at present but I did sign up to follow you. Please follow back and read my tweets to date to see how my mind works. I haven’t decided yet what to do about HW on Twitter.

  5. Julie Says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for telling me this. I love “coincidences” (not) like that! I’ve following you back. Thank for responding, and be well!

    • Mindy Says:

      hi, Julie….maybe i missed seeing you in my Twitter followers, or maybe you left already? i’m knittingpuppy there.

      • Julie Says:

        Hey Mindy, I’ll make sure I’m following you. I thought I was, but my mind hasn’t been its most alert, so I may have missed it.

  6. divamover Says:

    I read this book years ago, and realized I remember very little of it. You’ve inspired me to read it again. Re-reading works as a mature person that I “had to” read in school is a unexpected pleasure. Thanks for the nudge!

  7. Jingle Says:

    u Deserve a star today!

    an award for u,
    thank U for shining consistently.
    😉

  8. Jaymie Says:

    Alone and lonely – two different beasts. You are like a reading machine! So many books, so little time. 😉


Leave a Reply

