Home

The Man with the Candy

2010/03/09

Did I tell you about reading The Man with the Candy by Jack Olsen?  It is about a serial killer in Houston, TX, in the 70’s.  He was an old school investigative reporter.  He wrote for many good magazines and also wrote 32 books.  I’ve read 5 of his nonfiction books.  All but 1 of them is about crime.  Have I mentioned I like true crime?  I’m picky, though.  I don’t want to read true crime that isn’t well written.  Oh I think I have written about some of my favorites-James Ellroy, Lorenzo Carcaterra, and more! I don’t  know if I mentioned Jack Olsen.  His books are well-researched and objective.  He passed on in 2002.  He was 77.  He is very underappreciated, I believe.  Before Into Thin Air, there was Olsen’s 1962 account of a mountain climbing tragedy,  The Climb Up To Hell.

Anywho, I highly recommend Mr. Olsen.  A lot of his books are available used on Amazon & Better World Books.

4 Responses to “The Man with the Candy”


  1. I didn’t realize he had died, sad..he wrote 31 books before he died.
    Gerardine

  2. Jingle Says:

    wow,
    I am afraid of murder series,
    thank you for the book review.
    Happy Wednesday!

  3. Jingle Says:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/03/10/i-want-my-old-friends-back-awards/

    two awards,
    wings of love,
    thank you award…
    very beautiful,
    you shall at least take a look!
    i appreciate your support at the beginning of my blogging…
    cheers,
    😉

  4. shoreacres Says:

    I was living in Houston 1971-72 in the midst of all that.

    I was overseas during the trials, but followed Elmer Wayne Henley a bit. What am I saying? You couldn’t escape it. I think I might enjoy the book, just to put the pieces together in a more complete way.


Leave a Reply

