Home

Memories of Granny Spencer’s House

2010/04/27

It’s no longer there.

Torn down, years ago.

Granny Spencer was my Mama’s Grandmama.

Mama loved her Grandmama.

She took care of Mama,

when she was a litte baby.

In the early ’40’s

Granny Spencer sold milk from house to house,

traveling with a  horse and buggy

and my Mama.

She took in sewing

from white and black folk,

not a common thing

in that small southern coastal town.

Those are things I knew later.

When I was little,

I remember a clay pot on a tree-shaded porch,

with a dead bat in it.

I remember being in the bathroom upstairs,

With a wonderful, large, rudimentary heating grate

through which I eavesdropped on adult conversations.

There was a nice front porch

with one of those old fashioned metal gliders.

Most of my memories of her house

are on that porch.

She was a strong lady.

Nursed a badly burnt  6 year old daughter,

expected to die,

back to health.

Lived through the loss of a daughter

to the common water town disease of typhoid.

She wore her hair in a bun,

but it reached past her bottom.

When she passed at 87,

there were hardly any gray hairs

on that demented head.

2 Responses to “Memories of Granny Spencer’s House”


  1. I love this, you have a way with words that pulls out people places and times good and bad I can feel and miss your words…
    Gerardine

  2. Julie Says:

    Thank you so much. I am thrilled I discovered writing poetry. I can’t believe how much of my childhood I’ve remembered through writing poems, plus they are so cathartic. I love writing elegies. I used to think it was morbid, always writing about people who have passed, then I remembered how so many poems were elegies.


Leave a Reply

