Home

Just watched

2010/05/14

Loverboy” a film w/ Kyra Sedgewick, Kevin Bacon, some other good actors.  It was very, very slow, about a Mother w/ no boundaries, very disturbed & it shows why.  It was pretty well acted, but slow, and you really think things may not end well.  Oh, I didn’t like the ending, either.  Somehow, the film was poetic, and I really enjoyed the acting, but it could have flowed better.

I’m now reading Stiff (The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers) by Mary Roach.  It is very enjoyable.  I’m in the beginning section which she talks about cadavers used in medicine, for research and practice.  My Memom’s husband, Bob, did that after he died from cancer in about 1976.  He donated his body to science.  She got ashes back, but they were lots of peoples ashes mixed all together, not just his.   I guess it was quite noble of him.  Roach has a nice touch, making it light, but respectful, and exploring those very questions of how the cadavers are treated.  Interesting.

What did I read last weekend?  Oh, yes, mentioned it here.  It was everything I expected, a nice quick read.  I’ve been reading from my poetry book A Concise Treasury of Great Poems.  Oh my gosh, just found this site (which is linked to the book) and it’s called LibraryThing, and it’s a social networking site for book lovers, as well as a large catalog of many, many books.  I see myself exploring that more!!  Loving the poems.  It gives a brief biography of the poets, and then some of their work.  This printing is from 1/1960, so many of the poets mentioned were still alive when the book was done.  Of course I’m loving learning about the lives of the poets.  I’ve loved it, and keep coming back to it.

So, that’s about it w/ films & books.  Hoping for a visit from my muse.  I had the most vivid dreams last night & this morning, and didn’t write any of them down, which, of course, I regret.  I was positive I heard Andy on the phone in the middle of the night, talking with a loud voice, angry-ish, and it woke me up and I stepped outside of my room and called to him and he quieted down.  Then when I mentioned it this morning he said it didn’t happen, so I guess I dreamed that, too.  Lots of vivid dreams.  Must write more down.

Let me know if you check out LibraryThing, and what you think.  I shall do the same!  Ta!

Leave a Reply

