Home

The Clark Bar

2010/05/27

The most vivid part

of the memory

is peering through the screen door

into the kitchen,

pondering the risks and consequences

of reaching into a large clay cookie jar

to take an exotic Clark Bar.

I may have had a

co-conspirator.

It seems like I discussed it

with someone-perhaps just my

7-year old self.

I scurried in, and across the floor,

quietly, trying to be quiet.

Certainly I couldn’t reach it

on the counter.

I don’t remember how I got it.

But I got it.

I ate it, but don’t remember

eating it.

I only remember

bursting into tears

when my mother asked me

if I took it.

30 Responses to “The Clark Bar”

  1. Jingle Says:

    playful words,
    you are creative!
    πŸ˜‰

  2. fiveloaf Says:

    haha thats cute!

  3. Katherine Says:

    You captured the child-like need, want , desire and guilt perfectly. Very cute!

  4. soulintention: signed .............bkm Says:

    Very cute…..childhood in a Clark Bar….bkm

  5. dancingfreak Says:

    such a cute poem!!!

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    too good. funny. πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

    my link :

    http://writtenverse.blogspot.com/

    http://harshikaram.wordpress.com/

  6. suzicate Says:

    Ah, the essence of childhood, what a memeory!

  7. megzone Says:

    aahhh… the bliss of being a kid πŸ˜€
    wish i could be my child-self again πŸ˜€

    m here from Jingle’s Rally
    you can read my poetry at
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/thursday-poets-rally-a-stroll-through-neverland/


  8. I may have had a

    co-conspirator.

    Me and my brother! Thank you, you bring back such sweet memories

  9. dustus Says:

    Brought me back to a similar experience through your words… amazing

  10. brian Says:

    ack. yeah i been there…but it did taste good for a minute. smiles.

  11. Julie Niklas Says:

    The images in this are great, and easy to relate to.
    I think we’ve all done this. πŸ™‚

  12. joan Says:

    I believe it is safe to say we all can relate to a moment something like that someway in our early childhood, so tender and true, beautiful.

    Joanny

  13. mairmusic Says:

    a sweet glimpse back at childhood– nicely done!
    http://mairmusic.wordpress.com/


  14. I can imagine a child doing exactly that…wonderful.
    Just Say’n

  15. sk Says:

    Is cute!! I love it!! nice to read.

  16. Jingle Says:

    Happy Monday!
    πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

