Home

I’ve been reading a lot!

2010/06/09

First, I finished the fabulous book The Forever War, by Dexter Filkins.  I can’t say enough good things about this book.  I feel like his view is very balanced, not too emotional, but really gets you inside the heads of a lot of fighters.  It also gives us a good visual image of what people encounter in Iraq.  It’s sad, without being sentimental.

This weekend I read The Hot Zone by Richard Preston.  It was about the introduction of the Ebola virus into the US in the late 1980’s, via a company that procured & sold monkeys for research in Reston, VA.  It was very interesting.  This outbreak was fortunate in that the Ebola, which looked exactly like Ebola-Zaire (which is deadly to humans 90% of the time) did not make any humans sick.  There is also Ebola-Sudan.  Now, there is Ebola-Reston, which has recurred a few times in the U.S. & abroad.

I also got a book that has all the true crime elements I love-rich family, madness, greed, murder.  It’s called At Mother’s RequestIt was written in the 80’s by Jonathan Colemen.  I’m about half-way through.  It’s quite long and, I must admit, drags at times.   I can’t believe I haven’t ever read this before.  I don’t even remember it.  There was another book written about it by Shana Alexander, I believe.   This one will probably be enough for me.

Meanwhile, yesterday I woke up with a rhyming verse on my lips, saying it.  I immediately forgot it, but I really must get back into my poetry.  It is very grounding for me.  I’ve been very busy (reading, obviously!) and doing some volunteer work.

Today, I received a book that actually came out today called Messages: Signs, Visits, and Premonitions from Loved Ones Lost on 9/11 by a lovely lady named Bonnie McEneaney.  She is a friend of one of my dear friends, Stephanie, (who really needs to update her website! : )  She’s been telling me about it for awhile, and it is wonderful.  I started it this evening and it is very inspiring.  I recommend it for anyone, but especially anyone who has a strong connection with 9/11, for whatever reason.  I also recommend for anyone dealing with grief.  If you know my history, you know grief has been a big part of my family because the boys lost their Mommy (and Tim, his wife) when they were 2 & 5.  I have never, ever doubted that she is around and looking over them and protecting them.  Anyhow, I recommend this book!!

So, that’s what I’ve been up to the past week, among other things.  I’ve been making lots of greeting cards, and I’ll leave you with a picture of one.

I apologize in advance if you receive this card from me as a ty note.

5 Responses to “I’ve been reading a lot!”

  1. Jingle Says:

    nice to see you,
    long time missing you…
    cheers!

  2. brian Says:

    nice. the only one i have read is hot zone…great book…will check out the rest…congrats on the perfect poet as well…

    • Julie Says:

      Thanks Brian, and thanks for reading my blog. Popped over to yours and now I can’t get Edie Brickell out of my head! : )

  3. Jingle Says:

    I don’t expect you to attend my Rally, but I do hope that you find time returning compliments to poets who were here for you…

    encouragement and respect are highly appreciated.
    Thank you in advance!
    cheers!
    😉


Leave a Reply

