Home

Mr. Doster

2011/02/27

Sweet, gentle soul,

I met him at church.

He was a slight, stooped fellow,

with an abundance of white hair for his 84 years.

His eyes were aqua-blue,

and rendered such kindness and calm.

He was “layed to rest” today,

out in the country,

atop a small hill.

He was my friend.

When I married,

I asked him to be an usher at my wedding

years ago.

I asked two elderly friends to be ushers,

as well as my brother.

Both of my friends have passed on.

Mr. Doster, I love you.

I know you loved me and my family.

I never thanked you for fighting in the war.

May I now?

Miss Ella will miss you, I know.

Terribly.

I’ll make sure she knows we’re here

loving her and missing you.

Leave a Reply

