Home

Reading, read

2011/04/05

1. The Patron Saint of Liars, by Ann Patchett

2. The Bright Forever, A Novel, by Lee Martin

3. The Butterfly Garden: Surviving Childhood on the Run with One of America’s Most Wanted, by Chip St. Clair

4. The Girl Who Fell From the Sky, by Heidi Durrow

I read these books over the last week, mostly over the weekend and last night.  I keep forgetting the name of the 2nd one.  They were all great.  The first was a bit melodramatic & unlikely, but enjoyable.

The 2nd one was excellent, you really didn’t know which of 2 men perpetrated the crime-the true pedophile (possibly he was..you keep wondering.), or the mixed up hustler.  I did think the pedophilia aspect was dealt with poorly toward the end, when it had been developed so well throughout the book.  That was a disappointment, but it was still a great read.

The 3rd was the only nonfiction one.  It was actually better written than I expected, and a story of a truly miraculous and inspirational healing from a horrible, abusive childhood.  The book was well organized, and information was divulged in a way that helped you understand it.

The 4th book was one everyone should read.  It’s a coming of age book, but it’s also a book about how it feels to be of mixed race in the US.  It was my favorite of these 4 books.  It was well written, the writer is able to really engage the reader in these feelings she has about loss, sexuality, race.  It was very, very touching.

All of these books were thought provoking.  I am now reading Mentor, by Tom Grimes.  It is excellent.  It is about the author’s relationship with writer Frank Conroy.  Now I want to read Conroy’s memoir, Stop-Time.  I’d heard of it, but knew nothing about it or Conroy until I started reading this book.  I also want to read something else by Tom Grimes, but I’m not sure what yet.  I’m slightly intimidated because he writes so well, and I’m afraid I won’t understand anything else he writes.  I also feel a little “out of the loop” for not having read Stop-Time.  Whatever!

And I leave you with this poem by William Carlos Williams:

This Is Just To Say
I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold
4 Responses to “Reading, read”

  1. peg c Says:

    Have you tried paperbackswap.com ? I’m a member and it’s a very economical way to get books and you can pass on books you’ve read.

    http://www.paperbackswap.com/index.php?r_by=pegva@aol.com


  2. […] this post I talked about 4 books I’d read, and 1 I was in the process of reading.  I did read Frank […]

  3. zouxzoux Says:

    Thanks for the book recs – I’ve put the last 2 on my Amazon wish list. I noticed Dave Pelzer reviewed The Butterfly Garden – his book, A Child Called It, made a huge impression on me. I highly rec it if you haven’t read it but be prepared with lots of kleenex.

    I love that poem by Williams. It’s one of my favorites.
    You have a wonderful blog. I’ve been reading for a while but never commented until now. 🙂

  4. Julie Says:

    Well, thanks again! I really appreciate it. I am trying to do something every day on it, because I like writing, although I do best when I write spontaneously. I love reading!

    I have read A Child Called It. It’s unbelievable to me that someone so abused can heal. I realize healing is a lifelong process, but both Pelzer and St. Clair have both come so far.

    Thanks for commenting. It really keeps me inspired to blog! I’ll check yours out, too.


Leave a Reply

