Home

1944 Atlantic Storm

2011/08/25

I was reading about this storm earlier this week, and realized my Dad was living in Manteo, NC during this time.  He was 9 years old.  Today I asked him what he remembered about it.  I’m going to talk to him more, but wanted to get the things he told me down.  He remembered going down to Aunt Cada’s store (Tarkington’s) downtown with his Daddy, his 2 uncles Frank, and his cousins Jack and Jerry who were around the same age.  He remembered walking through water that appeared very deep to him both outside and in the store.

He also remembered seeing the roof blow off the gym at the school, so I guess they were running around during the storm, but that’s what residents did.  They had  to check their businesses, and one of the uncles was the Sheriff of Dare County, so he had to be out and about.  I’m pretty sure he was Sheriff at that time.  He was also in charge of the jail.

Actually, he didn’t become sheriff until 1946 so I don’t know what they were doing out in the storm.  Checking on the store, I guess.  Anyhow, I’m going to ask him some more questions about it when I see him again.

I wonder if my outer banks kin evacuated.  Irene will be there late tomorrow night, I guess.  I doubt it.  I’ve never known any of them to evacuate during a storm.  I’m very concerned about the beach replenishment project at Nags Head.  They spent millions and aren’t done, and I’m sure Irene isn’t going to help.

So thankful Andy evacuated to my inlaws’ in Williamsburg.  He goes to school in Va. Beach at Va. Wesleyan College, and was planning to stay with friends in the area.  I was so worried he was going to be stubborn about it and stay.  He’s 20.  After he sees this storm he’ll be glad he left, I bet.

All for now-Ta!

2 Responses to “1944 Atlantic Storm”

  1. zouxzoux Says:

    I hope your relatives made out o.k. with Irene. Living and coping with the devastation after a hurricane is challenging, to say the least.

  2. Julie Says:

    Thanks so much. Besides loss of power, we were blessed. Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

