Home

Reading, read

2011/10/09

several books.

Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and how it changed America by John M. Barry.  I liked this book because it included a rich history of the Mississippi River and its geography, and of our history of manipulating it.  It also recounted how blacks were treated in the Delta during this time.  Folks, if you think racism ended with the Civil War, read this.  I feel like I’ve blogged about this book before but I couldn’t find it.  Anyhow, it dragged at times but it is full of interesting details, and the parallels between what happens now (Katrina, and the Mississippi River flooding this year) are sad.

Almost finished reading Zelda, an excellent biography of Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald by Nancy Milford.  It is very interesting.  Early 20th century literature and authors and artists interest me, and this book doesn’t disappoint.

I received Inside Scientology by Janet Reitman this week.  I had to immediately tear into it.  I’ve always wanted to know the full history of L. Ron Hubbard, and it is included here.  It is well documented, and seems fair.  It reveals some dirty secrets about Scientology, though.  It also familiarizes the reader with the lexicon of Scientology, which is helpful.  They use made up words, as well as existing words they’ve given a different meaning.

I read The Reason by Sally Grablick also.  I’m going to do a separate post on that because I was asked to review it, and I think it’s an important book for anyone suffering the loss of a loved one to read.

I’m still stumbling through Black Sun about Harry Crosby, by Geoffrey Wolff.  It is excellent, and of course I love the era and historical perspective.  Don’t know why it’s taking me so long to get through it, but I know I’ll finish it.

I just ordered a slew of books from Amazon so I better get reading.  Ta!

Leave a Reply

