Home

Redbone by Ron Stodgill

2011/11/13

I finished reading Redbone-Money, Malice and Murder in Atlanta by Rod Stodgill.  I didn’t want it to end.  I ended up liking it a lot, because it opened a little window in to African American life in Atlanta, and the history of African Americans there.  The victim, perpetrator and author are all African American, and I realized how little white people (including me) read about things that happen to African Americans, by African Americans.  I would imagine something written by an African American would be more authentic to an African American.  Anyhow, I checked to see if Stodgill had written any other books and he hasn’t (as of 2007), but I’m going to investigate further.  I liked his writing.

I’m now reading Driving with Dead People by Monica Holloway.  It hooked me right away.  I like it already.  Haven’t read much because I’ve been so busy.

3 Responses to “Redbone by Ron Stodgill”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    My gosh. I don’t know how I lost track of you. I just found a list of posts I’m supposedly following on WP and there you were.

    Anyhow – now I’ve got you back on MY list, as opposed to the WP list, which I find cumbersome and not helpful. Hope your holiday season is joyful. I’m looking forward to browsing backward and seeing what you’re reading.

  2. Tony Says:

    Have you read “Invisible Man” by Ralph Ellison … (it’s a classic).. I read it in 1980, it may have been a little over my head back then (I was in high school), but I read it again about 5 years ago. Great book.

    Hope you’re having a happy new year!

    Tony

  3. Julie Says:

    Thank you both for reading and commenting. I’ve neglected my blog for so long. I’m going to have a bit more time, so hopefully can write more. Tony, I haven’t read Invisible Man, although I’ve heard of it. Will check it out. Julie


Leave a Reply

