Home

Reading

2012/06/24

I got a Nook a few months ago. I use it every day and love it. I try not to buy many books on it, because they arw so nuch more expensive than used print books. There are many free or lower priced books, and I think I’ve read 12 of them.

I also read a few print books I rediscovered during our move. I read Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast, and The Great Gatsby. Loved both, especially Gatsby.

I discovered this wonderful writing genre. Well, I have enjoyed this sort of writing–long, nonfiction essays and articles, for a long time reading Vanity Fair, Atlantic Monthly, The New Yorker. A few times I purchased the best crime writing anthology for a given year, a collection of well written true crime articles.

I found this website, longreads.com, that culls magazine articles and essays from many sources each week, and I love it! I have read so much the past month or 2. Sometimes I feel like all I do is read, besides working and cleaning house. At times I feel lazy, but I’m learning a lot! There are also literary criticisms which have inspired me to read something I may have forgotten, or rediscover a writer I love, like J.M. Coetzee.
R

I found this website, longreads.com, which is

3 Responses to “Reading”

  1. shoreacres Says:

    I’m glad to know about Longreads.I love essays – maybe my favorite genre – and that’s what I tend toward on my blog. I certainly don’t try to pull off anything like we find in the Atlantic, etc, but maybe someday I’ll work my way up the word count ladder!

  2. Zouxzoux Says:

    Thanks for the heads up about Longreads – I’ll def check it out. Are you familiar with The Oxford American? It’s a great magazine filled with wonderful (mostly southern) writing. I’ve subscribed for years but you can also read a select few of the pieces online each month.

  3. Julie Says:

    Ladies, I also discovered Byliner.com, which has even more long form reporting.


Leave a Reply

