Home

Inspiration from Mama Kat

2013/01/03

Her fantastic blog is over here.  I linked to her writer’s workshop page where I got today’s writer’s prompt, since I didn’t wake up with anything.  Sometimes I wake up teeming with life and ideas.  I swear you’ll experience that me one day!  In the meantime,

Write about a time you hid from someone, or a time you disguised who you really were.

I won’t be a downer and describe the many recurring dreams I have where I’m being chased and trying to hide!  Did I mention if I had one superpower it would be to transport myself, i.e. disappear?

No, once I was visiting my sister at her school in Central North Carolina.  She lived with her sorority sisters in their house, and I’m always up for some shenanigans.  She had briefly dated this fellow, and I called him and told him I was whoever, and I’d met him at such and such party, and I’d love to see him again.  We agreed upon a meeting place, and she and her ‘sisters’ hid and watched and tittered at our meeting.

I dressed up like a country bumpkin with no social skills, and chatted with him for about 15 min- 1/2 hr., trying to convince him we’d met before, and how much he had admired me.  Alas, I don’t remember much more about it except Betsy and her sisters and I thought it was quite funny.  I think I had him convinced he had met me.

And that is a time I disguised who I was.  Which is difficult for me because I am compulsively honest.  Although right now I’m not sure I’ve been honest with myself lately, which has nothing to do with the writing prompt so I’ll leave you with a pretty picture.  Going back to my Denmark files…..

DSC01141

I can’t remember the name of the hotel, but I think it was designed by the brilliant Arne Jacobsen.  These are the first artichoke lamps I ever saw.  Aren’t they stunning?

Leave a Reply

