Home

More Inspiration from Mama Kat

2013/01/04

Once again, I got a writing prompt from Mama Kat.

The prompt is:

Write about someone who is an underdog.

I don’t know that this person is an underdog.  He just seems sort of one.  I don’t know how old he is, but he seems like he could be in his 60’s.  He is short, seems a bit passive, doesn’t talk much, that I’ve seen.  I don’t really know him, but I see him at an auction I sometimes attend to procure items for my booth at West End Antiques.

This auction house employs a number of folks to help bring items up and hold them up as they are being auctioned.  All night long employees, mostly boys or young men, are racing back and forth with furniture.  The large furniture items are brought up to the right of the auctioneer.  The ‘smalls’ – dishes, silver, small tables & chairs, lamps, etc. are brought up to the left of the auctioneer.

This fellow works on the left, bringing the smalls up to the front.  He hustles like everyone else, but doesn’t do a lot of heavy lifting like the others do.  He may be younger than I imagine him.  To me, he looks like Clarence, the angel in It’s A Wonderful Life.  Remember Clarence?  Here’s a picture:

Image

Clarence has a sweet innocence about him which I think he shares with this gentleman I’m describing as an underdog.  I don’t know that he’s an underdog, he just seems like it.  It’s not an easy job.  You work until the wee hours of the morning.

Who knows, he may be on top of the world, and not an underdog at all.  Clarence may have seemed like an underdog as well, but he really wasn’t.  Neither was George Bailey, and it took the whole film to convince him of it!

This is the first year I haven’t watched It’s A Wonderful Life during the Christmas season.  I was pretty depressed over Christmas, and I could stand neither the sadness nor the gladness of it.  I’m much better now, Thank God.

Anyhoo, that’s my post for today.  Let’s have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

