Home

The Best Thing In The World…

2013/01/05

is to wake up singing or laughing.  A few weeks ago I woke up & started singing “We Shall Overcome”.  I love it when I wake myself up laughing.  It’s a great way to start the day.

Another bit of dreaming pleasantry is when Elsie would chase something in her dreams.  Her little paws would just go, and she would bark quietly.  She rarely barked while awake, although she found her voice late in life.  I’d heard her bark less than 5 times the first 4 years I had her.  She started barking more about 6 mos. ago.  It was a joy to hear.  Obviously, thinking about her is a little hurtful to my heart, but it’s also nice to remember.

A fellow I worked with years ago lost his 20 year old son.  I saw an obituary today.  I can’t imagine the pain he and his wife are feeling.  It has to be the worst feeling one could feel, the loss of a child.

Geez, I started with a happy thought, and look where it went!  Here is a poem by Denise Levertov.  I found it here.  It is called:  When We Look Up

He had not looked,
pitiful man whom none

pity, whom all
must pity if they look

into their own face (given
only by glass, steel, water
barely known) all
who look up

to see-how many
faces? How many

seen in a lifetime? (Not those that flash by, but those

into which the gaze wanders
and is lost

and returns to tell
Here is a mystery,

a person, an
other, an I?

I will leave you with a picture of… my booth at West End Antiques.  Went over and cleaned & rearranged and added and subtracted today.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

