Home

A Small Indiscretion

2015/02/24

Last night I read this book.  It is the first novel of a writer named Jan Ellison.  She didn’t ask me to review it, but I enjoyed it so much I wanted to tell you about it.  It is a suspense novel, but mostly it is a novel about love, the nature of love, how fluid it is.  The book was incredibly moving.  I read this review at The Rumpus.  I wasn’t expecting the book to be as well written as it was, mainly because it is a first novel and I didn’t know of the author.  However, when I researched a bit I found out she is a very accomplished writer.  Her first story won the O. Henry prize!

I mentioned the book was moving.  I could feel how much this mother loved her children, and others in her life.  It is written in the form of a letter to her son, which is unusual, but didn’t take anything away from my enjoyment.  I think it was more enjoyable because her first person made it so relatable.  I could have been that young girl, and middle-aged Mom.  It spans the course of about 20 years.  She is about 8 years younger than me, but close enough in age for me to relate to what the world was like during the times she writes about.

I actually read it through the night, and was too lazy to go downstairs to get a highlighter, but there were quotes in the book that I wanted to remember and reflect upon, so I dog eared many pages.  Also, I read and enjoyed a well known and successful contemporary novel last week.  Since I don’t read a lot of fiction, the contrasts stood out, in terms of how well the book was written, how fleshed-out the characters were.  I sure didn’t feel like tweeting and blogging about it after I finished it, although I enjoyed it.

Love, love, love.  Yes, it is about family, secrets, trust.  But it is mostly about love.  To me, anyway.  If you are a woman, you probably have felt the rush of a risky relationship, and how it makes you feel about yourself.  There was so much introspection in this book.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

