Home

Belhaven!

2015/12/10

If you’ve read my blog you probably know a place in NC, Belhaven, is close to my heart. This summer I got to visit, and it was joyous. Other aunts, uncles & cousins who don’t live there were visiting. My generous uncle had a crew to cook & clean up. We had the best fried shrimp I’d had in a few years. And this incredible layer cake he gets in Currituck or somewhere on the way.

My cousins and I rode all over town in my uncles golf cart. It’s probably less than a mile from downtown to River Forest Manor, where we were staying. The house is being renovated and I told a little of its history here. While downtown, the golf cart ran out of gas and we were chugging and pushing home, and I was periscoping it, which was hilarious. It took 1/2 an hour to get back!

My Uncle rented a luxury bus that had bedrooms, a kitchen, etc. He also rented some of the outer cottages that have been renovated (very nicely, I might add, they were skanky for a long time.) He also brought his cars. One of them is the the Rolls from Arthur, which my uncle got at an auction. ALS (which killed Dudley Moore, star of this film,) is related to Parkinson’s, which my uncle has had for 20 years. He’s only 10 years older than me and has lived such an active life. I got to drive his newer Rolls in the parade! Here are some pics from the weekend.

ocra-1

River Forest Manor

IMG_0807

Preston and Uncle Sonny

IMG_0771

Water Street view

IMG_0773

Bishop Home on Water St.

IMG_0776

Preston rolls into Belhaven

IMG_0777

4 of his cars

IMG_0778

My cuz Chelsea

IMG_0768IMG_0769

IMG_0784

Preston and Aunt Libby

IMG_0785

Preston’s Kris Kraft

IMG_0792

Arthur Car

IMG_0793

Boats at the marina

IMG_0800

Preston’s Rolls

IMG_0803

 Aunt Nellie’s house

IMG_0811

I drove this!

IMG_0831

My view at parade

IMG_0836

Late afternoon

IMG_0837

Boats at the dock

IMG_0838

New Marina

IMG_0839

All the water pics are Pantego Creek

2 Responses to “Belhaven!”

  1. Asa Lowe III Says:

    Julie,
    My family is from Eastlake and related to Frank Cahoon. My grandfather is Roger Cahoon. Im also friends with the fussells. I’m curious how you are connected to both families!

    • Julie Says:

      Hi, Frank Cahoon was my great uncle by marriage! His wife, Charlotte, was my Grandaddy’s sister. Paternal. Fussell is maternal–my Mom was Stephany Fussell growing up in Belhaven!!! Dad & his fam lived at Manteo when we was a boy & his cousins were Jack & Jerry Cahoon. Was Roger Frank’s brother? So happy to hear from you.


Leave a Reply

